

REGIONAL DISTRICT OF KOOTENAY BOUNDARY

Bylaw No. 1535

A bylaw to provide for and create Advisory Planning Commissions and define the duties thereof within the Regional District of Kootenay Boundary, pursuant to Part 26 of the *Local Government Act*.

WHEREAS, pursuant to Letters Patent dated the 22nd day of February 1966, the Regional District of Kootenay Boundary was granted the provisions of Sections 795 to 798 D inclusive of the *Municipal Act*";

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to Section 898(2) of the *Local Government Act* the Regional Board shall establish one or more Advisory Planning Commissions representing the area or areas not included within the boundaries of a city, district, town or village municipality;

AND WHEREAS, the Regional Board deems it advisable to appoint Advisory Planning Commissions for each of Electoral Areas 'A', 'B', 'C', 'D' & 'E' (excluding Big White) and "E' Big White of the Regional District of Kootenay Boundary in order to receive advice on those matters falling within the scope of the *Local Government Act*;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Regional District of Kootenay Boundary Board of Directors, in open meeting assembled, enacts as follows:

1. There shall be established in each Electoral Area of the Regional District of Kootenay Boundary, an Advisory Planning Commission, each know as follows:

Electoral Area 'A' – Area 'A' Advisory Planning Commission; Electoral Area 'B' – Area 'B' Advisory Planning Commission; Electoral Area 'C' – Area 'C' Advisory Planning Commission; Electoral Area 'D' – Area 'D' Advisory Planning Commission; Electoral Area 'E' – Area 'E' (Except Big White) Advisory Planning Commission; Electoral Area 'E' – (Big White) - Big White Advisory Planning Commission.

(Herein referred to as Commission or Commissions, as the case may be.)

- 2. The maximum number of members of each Commission shall be no more than fourteen (14) persons.
- 3. The minimum number of members of each Commission shall be no less than three (3) persons.
- 4. No person shall be appointed to membership in a Commission who is an employee of the Regional District.
- 5. Prospective appointees to a Commission shall be proposed by the Electoral Area Director of the Electoral Area concerned and such proposal shall be either confirmed or rejected by the Regional District Board, and if confirmed, such confirmation shall be by resolution of the Regional District Board.

- 6. Each person appointed to a Commission shall hold office until December 31st in each year or until his successor is appointed, but such person may be appointed for a further term or terms.
- 7. Members of Commissions shall serve without remuneration, save and except for incidental expenses incurred while carrying out the duties of a member of the Commission.
- 8. At the first meeting of the Commission held in each year, members shall elect from among their members, a Chair and a Secretary, who shall hold office until their successors have been elected.
- 9. Upon the death or resignation of the Chair or Secretary, the members shall elect a successor to complete the term.
- 10. (a) A quorum is a majority of the members of the Commission.
 - (b) A decision of the Commission shall be made by the majority of the members present at a meeting.
 - (c) The Chair or any two members may call a meeting of the Commission upon giving at least four days' notice to each member.
 - (d) Notice may be waived by consent of a majority of all the members.
- 11. Each Secretary shall keep necessary records of meetings and expenses and perform such other secretarial duties as may from time to time be required of the Commission.
- 12. (a) Each Commission shall advise the Regional Board on such matters within the scope of Part 26 of the *Local Government Act* as may from time to time be referred to the Commission by the Regional Board.
 - (b) All reports and recommendations of the Commissions shall be forwarded to the Regional Board for their consideration.
 - (c) All reports and recommendations of the Commissions shall be transmitted to and received by the Regional District Board before being made public.
- 13. Bylaw No. 1461 "Regional District of Kootenay Boundary Advisory Planning Commission Bylaw No. 1461, 2011" is hereby repealed.
- 14. This Bylaw may be cited for all purposes as "Regional District of Kootenay Boundary Advisory Planning Commission Bylaw No. 1535, 2013".

Read a **FIRST** time this 29th day of August, 2013.

Read a **SECOND** time this 29th day of August, 2013.

Read a **THIRD** time this 29th day of August, 2013.

RECONSIDERED and finally adopted this 29th day of August, 2013.

Chair

Director of Corporate Administration

I, Elaine Kumar, Director of Corporate Administration of the Regional District of Kootenay Boundary, do hereby certify the foregoing to be a true and correct copy of Regional District of Kootenay Boundary Bylaw No. 1535 cited as "Regional District of Kootenay Boundary Advisory Planning Commission Bylaw No. 1535, 2013" as reconsidered and finally adopted this 29th day of August, 2013.